Professional Awards

Mangeot-Oaken Distinguished Service Award

The Mangeot-Oaken Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor given by the Kentucky Travel Industry Association. It is named for Daniel Mangeot and Mary Ray Oaken, individuals who were true industry icons.

The past recipients encompass individuals who have dedicated their professional careers to developing, promoting, and protecting Kentucky's tourism industry. Among this group are entrepreneurs and statewide leaders. All have on thing in common - dedication to "Making Tourism Work for Kentucky".

Criteria for selection:

  • Involvement/employed in Kentucky's Travel Industry for at least 10 years
  • KTIA member in good standing
  • Involvement/employed in Kentucky's Travel Industry for at least 10 years
  • Outstanding contributions to the growth and development of tourism in Kentucky

Member of the Year

Criteria for this award:

  • Member in good standing
  • Attended KTIA meetings throughout the year
  • Made outstanding contributions to KTIA through work on legislative issues, continuing education or other KTIA programs.

Rookie of the Year

Each year we ask KTIA members to nominate a new member who has distinguished her/himself in service to the association for the designation of "Rookie of the Year". Recipients of this award have expanded their work with Kentucky Travel Industry programs and have made tremendous contributions toward reaching important goals.

Criteria for this award:

  • KTIA member in good standing for 18 months or less
  • Active involvement in KTIA programs
  • Has made important contributions to the organization or business where he/she is employed
  • Active involvement in local travel industry